close
Comments you submit will be routed for moderation. If you have an account, please log in first.
Modify

Opened 5 years ago

Closed 4 years ago

#28 closed enhancement (wontfix)

Change the behaviour after deleting mails.

Reported by: opiopi Owned by: somebody
Priority: low Milestone: YAM 2.7
Component: user interface Version:
Severity: trivial Keywords:
Cc: OS Platform:
Blocked By: Blocking:
Release Notes:

Description (last modified by tboeckel)

Hi

Currently YAM open the next mail from the message list if i delete a mail in a read window.

I would like if YAM has an option in his config to change that behaviour in (sorry german strings) e.g. in config->Diverses->Speichern/Löschen von Nachrichten and just close the read window instead of open the next mail.

Sometimes it could be very handy to see what the next mail is and if you really want to open such mail now. I don't like to be forced to open another mail only because i delete the currently displayed mail.


Moved from SF:
https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=detail&aid=2122197&group_id=13560&atid=464455

Attachments (0)

Change History (9)

comment:1 Changed 5 years ago by damato

What about two different shortcuts for this instead of yet another config option. I'd suggest DEL for the normal (current) deletion of mails and SHIFT+DEL to delete a mail without opening another mail. Maybe the other way round. Although this wont work if one deletes a mail via the toolbar or the menu.

From my point of view a general config option doesn't fullfil the usual needs, that means, sometimes one wants to go to the next mail, but sometimes not. Having two shortcuts for this makes it easier to choose from these two possibilities on-the-fly without having to tamper with the configuration. This would also be more consistent with the current CURSOR and SHIFT+CURSOR behaviour to navigate through the mails.


Moved from SF. Original poster: thboeckel

comment:2 Changed 5 years ago by damato

Hm... two different shortcuts for this would be fine but that does not change the behaviour for me because i mostly use the delete button. IMHO the best solution is to add two different shortcuts and 2 config options. the first define the behaviour for the menu and delete button and the second the behaviour for the shortcuts. (open the next mail if the shift button is used or not). In this way we should should be able to satisfy all users.


Moved from SF. Original poster:opiopi

comment:3 Changed 5 years ago by damato

  • Priority changed from major to undecided
  • Severity set to major

comment:4 Changed 5 years ago by damato

  • Component changed from stable build to undefined

comment:5 Changed 5 years ago by damato

  • Cc yamos-svn@… removed

comment:6 Changed 5 years ago by damato

  • Component changed from undefined to user interface
  • Milestone set to YAM 2.7
  • Priority changed from undecided to low
  • Reporter changed from opiopi@… to Opi
  • Severity changed from major to trivial
  • Status changed from new to accepted

As this feature seems to be only rarely requested I suggest to add a hidden config option first so that we don't clutter the config GUI with yet another option.

comment:7 Changed 5 years ago by damato

  • Reporter changed from Opi to opiopi

comment:8 Changed 4 years ago by tboeckel

  • Description modified (diff)
  • Status changed from accepted to pending

Having though about this one again I must say that I'd like to reject it because of two reasons.

First of all, using SHIFT+DEL instead of DEL is not possible, because SHIFT+DEL is used already to immediately delete mails instead of moving them to the Trash folder, or, in case of the Trash folder, delete the mail completely.

Second, if something like this would be implemented in any way YAM would no longer react consistently. When using the embedded read pane there is always one mail displayed, except the folder is empty. Thus the current behaviour using separate read windows matches the look&feel using the embedded read pane as much as possible with the exception that the read window can be closed. But it is consistent. Deleting the currently displayed mail will show the next mail, with "next" being defined by certain fixed rules.

It is simply impossible to implement something like "do what I mean right now, but do it differently the next time". If YAM has to display a different mail after deleting one this should be consistent and independently of how the mails are being displayed (separate window or embedded read pane). Furthermore using more and more key shortcuts doesn't make your life easier and the next time you hit the wrong shortcut by accident you will curse yourself, because you wanted to get the opposite behaviour.

comment:9 Changed 4 years ago by tboeckel

  • Resolution set to wontfix
  • Status changed from pending to closed

It seems nobody wants to discuss this topic. Closing it as "won't fix".

Add Comment

Modify Ticket

Action
as closed The owner will remain somebody.
The resolution will be deleted. Next status will be 'reopened'.
Author


E-mail address and user name can be saved in the Preferences.

 
Note: See TracTickets for help on using tickets.

This list contains all users that will be notified about changes made to this ticket.

These roles will be notified: Reporter, Owner, Subscriber

  • Frank Weber(Reporter)