Changes between Version 3 and Version 4 of Documentation/Configuration


Ignore:
Timestamp:
Oct 17, 2012 10:23:07 PM (2 years ago)
Author:
damato
Comment:

--

Legend:

Unmodified
Added
Removed
Modified
  • Documentation/Configuration

    v3 v4  
    133133 
    134134  Example Yes 
     135 
     136== New mail == 
     137Controlling the way mail is downloaded. 
     138 
     139=== Download === 
     140`Pre-selection` 
     141  After establishing a link with the POP3 server, a  preselection window may open showing a list of all new mail in the POP3 mailbox.  This allows you to decide whether to download, delete or leave a message on the server, according to its size, topic or sender. For pre-selection to work properly, the server must support the TOP command which most of them do. 
     142 
     143  //never//: pre-selection is deactivated\\ 
     144  //large messages//: only messages bigger than a size defined by you will be displayed in pre-selection\\ 
     145  //always//: every message will be displayed in pre-selection\\ 
     146  //always, only sizes//: all messages will be displayed but only their sizes will be shown.  The advantage of this method is that it is pretty fast. 
     147 
     148  Example: always 
     149 
     150`Size limit` 
     151  If pre-selection is activated, messages which exceed the size given here will be highlighted.  This way you can avoid downloading messages with huge attachments.  The size is given in kilobytes. If you don't want to use any limit, just insert '0'. 
     152 
     153  In everyday use, the settings 'pre-selection = large messages' and 'size limit=100 kB' have proved to be advantageous.  With these settings, the pre-selection window will only appear if at least one of the new messages exceeds 100 kilobytes in size.   
     154 
     155  Example: 100 
     156 
     157`Transfer window` 
     158  Here you can decide if you want to see the  transfer window  while receiving or sending mail.  With //automatic// it only opens if you manually initialize the transfer, staying closed while YAM automatically checks for new mail. 
     159 
     160  Example: never 
     161 
     162`Avoid duplicates` 
     163  If you choose not to have YAM delete the mail on the server after downloading, it will be downloaded again next time YAM gets your mail, so every message will appear twice in your mail folder.  To prevent this, switch the Avoid duplicates option on -- as long as this option is activated, YAM will keep track of all your downloaded messages in the .uidl file and use special commands of the POP3 server to avoid downloading the same message twice. If the POP3 server supports these UIDL commands, this check will be done rather quickly.  If the server doesn't support these commands, YAM will try to read the Message-ID using the TOP command instead of the UIDL commands.  In case the mail server doesn't support any of these commands, this option must be turned off. 
     164 
     165  Example: Yes 
     166 
     167`Update message status` 
     168  If this option is activated, new messages in the 'Incoming' folder will be marked as 'unread' before downloading new mail.  This way you can instantly recognize the new mail that was downloaded the last time you've fetched mail. 
     169 
     170  Example: Yes 
     171