wiki:WikiDeletePage

Deleting a Wiki Page

Wiki pages can be completely deleted using the Delete page or the Delete this version button at the bottom of the wiki page. These buttons are only visible for users that have the WIKI_DELETE permission.

Note: Deleting a wiki page is an irreversible operation.

Deleting specific versions or even complete pages can make sense to remove spam or other abusive submissions.

However, if you want to delete a page because you re-created a new page with the same content but a different name, it is recommended to keep the page and use it as a redirection page instead of completely deleting it. This will avoid frustrating the visitor with broken links, particularly when coming to the site from a search engine.

In this situation, chances are that you actually wanted to rename the page instead of doing a copy and delete. The Rename operation offers you the possibility to create a redirection page. A redirection page is a short page that contains a link such as “See SomeOtherPage”.


See also: TracWiki, TracPermissions

Last modified 4 months ago Last modified on May 11, 2016, 11:37:08 AM